The Importance of Journaling (+ 10 Journaling Prompts)

My journal is my best friend. People look at me funny when I say that. I guess in a technical sense the statement does sound weird, however it really isn’t. My journal is a space where I can be creative and iron out my ideas, thoughts and feelings. It is a place where I can write about my fears, joys or just doodle. I’m able to empty out my brain onto the pages of a notebook that is entirely mine. It is whatever I make it and is in so many ways a true reflection of me at that point in my life.

When ever I leave the house I am always armed with my red note-book, my favourite pen and colouring pencils.

When I was younger I tried so hard to keep a journal. Looking back, I keep finding my younger self apologizing to the non-existent reader that I hadn’t properly written in a while. It was so funny how I always thought I had an audience even though that audience was just me.

As I’ve gotten older I’ve become progressively less inhibited in my journaling and storytelling. I find myself naturally writing every other day. Sometimes I struggle with what to write even though I feel the need to. When that happens, my entries become redundant and base. Recently, I’ve hit a plateau with my writing and so I’ve decided to compile a list of prompts. I thought I’d share some of them just in case someone wants to give it a try.

  1. If you could restructure a foundational moment in your life, what would it be?  Why?
  2. What makes you different from everyone else?
  3. If you weren’t afraid, what would you do?
  4. Draw what you want to see outside the window right now. Not what is out your window but you want. (This is more of a creative drawing prompt)
  5. What are your short-term goals?
  6. What are your long-term goals?
  7. What is the essence of what you want?
    (A bit of context for this question, I got asked this at the beginning of a yoga retreat once. I still don’t know how to answer it and have been trying to work through it for ages. I guess that’s the whole point of the question.)
  8. If you were to recreate your world, what would be at the centre of it?
  9. Where do you see yourself in a year? What about five years? And ten?
  10. What is a song that puts you completely at ease? Why?

Let me know if you are able to work through any of these. Anyone have any other prompts they would recommend?

Happy journaling! xx

Leave a Reply

