Sharing Music

When I was younger, I was so shy when it came sharing music.  I would always cringe if my iPod was set to shuffle and connected to a big speaker. I didn’t want people to know that I listened to. Music can be both very public and very intimate For me, music is the space where I can get lost in thought, daydream or just tune out the world around me.  But at the same time, music is something that is cornerstone to a lot of my friendships. My music taste, as I’ve said before, is eclectic and you’ll find everything in my iPod or Spotify account. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become much more confident in my music tastes and I find myself wanting to share what I’m listening to.

One of the Christmas gifts that I gave this year was personalized playlists that I thought a loved one might like. Some might call it cheap (yes it was) but it also took so much thought! It was an incredibly intimate process. I was not only handpicking songs that I thought that someone would enjoy and hum along to while cooking or driving, but some of the songs were also ones that I really love.

It sounds like such a ’90s thing to say “I love making mixtapes” but I really do. I think it’s such a sweet way of telling someone that you’re thinking of them. By sharing a song/playlist/album/mix tape/whatever, you’re letting the listener into a part of your world. You can play with the flow of energy as well as the narrative arch in the way you sequence of songs. There is so much space for creativity and honesty when curating a playlist. I will always say that the fourth song is the most important one on a playlist. If the listener gets that far into it, you can tell them what you’re really thinking with that particular song. It’s arbitrary but I think about it a lot.

Do you curate playlists? Ever given it as a gift? Which song number do you think is the most important?

If you want to, PLEASE SEND YOUR PLAYLISTS/MIXES! I love to hear what other people are listening to.

xx

Mags

Leave a Reply

