Really Cool Podcasts!

One of my favourite things is to listen to podcasts while doing mundane things. Here are some really really cool podcasts that I get sort of geeky about.

And The Writer Is

“Every week, we sit down with an acclaimed and venerable songwriter to intimately discuss what happens behind closed doors in the music industry. There are millions of singers, thousands of artists, and only 40 top songs per genre at a time… this podcast is about the people who make them.”

I think it’s fairly obvious when looking at most of my posts that I write a lot about music. I’m really fascinated by the music industry, different styles of music and the relationships people have with songs and albums. I highly recommend this podcast if you’re looking for a bit of insight into the “other side” of the music industry.

BBC Global News Podcast

I like to stay informed on what’s going on in this world. I listen and keep track of multiple news outlets however the BBC is one of the outlets that I keep going back to.

How I Built This by NPR

“How I Built This is a podcast about innovators, entrepreneurs, and idealists, and the stories behind the movements they built. Each episode is a narrative journey marked by triumphs, failures, serendipity and insight — told by the founders of some of the world’s best known companies and brands.”

This is hands down one of my favourite podcasts in this list. Just listen to it.

Song Exploder

“A podcast where musicians take apart their songs, and piece by piece, tell the story of how they were made.”

Song Exploder breaks down the creative process and how some of our favourite songs come to be. One of my favourites is show number 27, where The Lumineers talk about how they wrote and composed their song Ophelia.

Lore

“Lore is a bi-weekly podcast (and upcoming TV show) about the dark historical tales that fuel our modern superstitions. Each episode explores the world of mysterious creatures, tragic events, and unusual places. Because sometimes the truth is more frightening than fiction.”

I really like to listen to this one when I’m home alone and cleaning the house. It’s just fun to listen to a spooky story.

 

Leave a Reply

